top of page

Winners of California Indies

California Indies is based in Santa Monica. The festival is dedicated to indie filmmaking and arthouse cinema. The festival promotes and awards U.S. and international productions. The online festival brings together emerging talents with some of the most well known artists working in cinema.

The festival announced the winners of the third edition of the festival today on July 5th and it is our pleasure to announce the winners in LA Indies.


Third Edition

Best U.S. Narrative Fragile Director: Manolo Campos

Best International Narrative Heinz 1945 Directors: Martin Beek, Karel Hamm

Best U.S. Documentary Pleasers Directors: Aja Corynn, Alexandra Casillas-Boggs

Best International Documentary DECODING SHANKAR Director: DEEPTI PILLAY SIVAN

Best Short Film Director Heinz 1945 Director: Martin Beek, Karel Hamm

Best Short Film Producer The Great Artist

Producer: Sunny Vachher

Best Short Film Cinematographer Heinz 1945 Dop: Martin Beek

Best Short Film Editor Becoming Emma Braintree Editor: Luke Patterson

Best Short Film Composer Mila Composer : Flavio Gargano

Best Short Film Poster The Boy's Gone

Director: Sarah Polhaus

Best Short Film Actor Eric Weigand Aquamarine

Best Short Film Actress Isabel Pask Aquamarine

Best Animation Justin and the Werloobee Director: Ken Yoffe & Ellen Weisberg, John Vo

Best Horror The Eve Director: Luca Machnich

Best Science Fiction The Aspirant Director: Adam Orton

Best Student Film Heaven stranded Director: yao songting

Best Comedy Third Date Director: Michael Kellman

Best Thriller Becoming Emma Braintree Director: Joshua Koske

Best Web-Series-Pilot Back Home Director: Christian A Oliveira

Best Independent Short Noisy Director: Cedric Hill

Best Music Video Ready to Roll

Best LGBTQ SURPRISE! Director: Nicole Picard

Best First Time Filmmaker 16 WORDS OR LESS Director: Meghan Finn

Best Female Filmmaker The Great Artist Director: Indrani Pal-Chaudhuri

Best Black and white photography Eternal Rest

Best Unproduced Script Beautiful Lines in the Night Sky Part II Writer: Tyler Schultz

Best Produced Script Cold Service Director: Peter Strupp

Best Musician O Sweet Woods Director: Jessica Gould


bottom of page