top of page

19th edition of Venice Shorts

The winners of the 19th edition of Venice Shorts of California were announced by the committee of the festival. Venice Shorts is devoted to the short cinema and arthouse indie film and script projects from international and American projects. Venice Shorts aims to discover and recognize indie short films and screenplays of all genres from all over the globe. The festival has also featured some of the most well known names in the film industry together with emerging U.S. and international talents. It is important to realize the power of short filmmaking and Venice Shorts has dedicated itself to short filmmaking and independent artists.

Best Narrative Film


Director: Darren Miller

Best Documentary

Saging the world

Directors: Rose Ramirez, Deborah Small, David Bryant

Honorable Mention Documentary

THE FIRST ATTACK ADS: Hollywood vs. Upton Sinclair Director: Greg Mitchell

Best Indie Short & Best Director

Censure Director: Richard Bazley

Best First Time Filmmaker

Last day on earth

Director: Christian Jacob Eisenbarth

Honorable Mention First Time Filmmaker

The red rose and the white rose

Director: Xuebing Feng

Best Experimental

Magnolia Moon Director: Georgia Usborne

Honorable Mention Experimental

Dead Man Travel Director: Moora Vander Veken

Best Animation


Director: Robert Petrie

Honorable Mention Animation

Adventures With The Caretaker Director: Peter Gardner

Best Web/TV Pilot-Series


Director: Jessica McGaugh


Naked men in the woods

Director: Paul Ploberger

Honorable Mention LGBTQ

S1NGULAR Short Film

Director: Ramon J. Goni

Best Thriller


Director: David J. Ellison

Best Music video

Adequately Director: Leo Gorenstein

Honorable Mention Music Video

IN MEMORIAM - Nach & Kany García Director Willy Rodríguez

Best Horror

Gas Station Lullaby

Director: David Lapuch

Honorable Mention Horror

The Box

Director: Patrick Devlin

Best Science Fiction


Director: Alex Kim

Best Student Film


Director: Minhan Liang

Best Student Animation

Pizza Knights

Director: Amelia Jane Vaughan

Best Comedy

Monster Mayhem

Director: Paul Constantakis

Best Script

The Last Creation Writer: Brad Cooper

Best Trailer & Best Poster

The Chair – screener

Director: Alain Legend Raymond

Best Producer


Bogdan Darev

Best Actress


Aimee Paxton

Best Actor

Black Face Brian DeRozan

Best Cinematographer

One Day / Day One

Adam Madrzyk

Honorable Mention Cinematographer

Mad Martha

Carl Allison

Best Short Film Script


Jonathan Mathew & Nav Khabra

Best Editor

Cold Start

Richard Townsley

Best Female Director


Director: Diane Lansing

Best Composer

When You Leave

Celisse Tan

Best Youth Artist

Uma Palmbo Jeppesen

Stay With Me

1 comment


Brad Cooper
Brad Cooper

Thank you for selecting The Last Creation as Best Script! Such an honor. Congrats to all the other winners and nominees.

bottom of page