top of page

Luca Guadagnino to Lead San Sebastian Film Festival Jury

The Spanish fest's Perlak section also added Chloé Zhao's 'Nomadland' and Mona Fastvold's 'The World to Come' to its lineup.

Luca Guadagnino will serve as president of the jury at the San Sebastian Film Festival.

Organizers said Friday that the Italian filmmaker will chair the jury for the official selection of this year's 68th edition of the fest. The filmmaker will at the Spanish fest also present the world premiere of the series We Are Who We Are in an out-of-competition slot.

His fellow jurors will be Spanish producer Marisa Fernández Armenteros, Mexican filmmaker Michel Franco and Swedish costume director Lena Mossum. A fifth jury member will be announced soon.

Guadagnino's Call Me by Your Name won the Academy Award for best adapted screenplay and landed a best film nomination. We Are Who We Are is an eight-episode series made for HBO and Sky.

San Sebastian on Friday also added two films to its Perlak section, which showcases works that have received acclaim and/or awards at other international festivals. The two additions are Chloé Zhao's Nomadland and Mona Fastvold's The World to Come.

This year's San Sebastian festival takes place Sept. 18-Sept. 26.


bottom of page